Research Databases

Featured Databases

Prepare for the Test

Peterson's Test Prep

Practice exams and courses for the AP, ACT, HiSET, SAT, and more.

Man fixing a car

Chilton Library

Repair, maintenance and service information for cars, trucks, vans and SUVs.

Legal Forms Library

Customizable forms, including wills, real estate agreements and many more.

Databases by Subject

Tutorial

Thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists.

Auto Repair Source

Tutorial

This database contains do-it-yourself repair and maintenance information on thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. Content has been provided by MOTOR Information Systems.


Tutorial

Provides access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today, as well as many new vehicles.

Find in-depth, original profiles of current biographies with full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Gale Literature

(In-Library Use Only)

An integrated research experience that brings together several literary databases.
Gale Literary Index

(In-Library Use Only)

Combines and cross references more than 130,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and more than 140,000 titles into one source.
Provides access to reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction. A readers’ advisory resource.
Provides biographies of children and young adults authors and illustrators.

Business Insights Essentials

Provides detailed company and industry profiles as well as company histories.


Gale Directory Library

Ebook collection covering manufacturers and distributors from small businesses to large corporations.


Gale eBooks

Tutorial

Includes Business Plans Handbook, the Encyclopedia of Small Business, and the Encyclopedia of Management.


Access Morningstar financial reports, analyst reports and porfolio screening.


Data Axle Reference Solutions

Tutorial

Business and consumer database covering over 51 million businesses as well as U.S. Standard White Pages. Perfect for job seekers, sales leads, and finding key business people and contact information. (Formerly Reference USA)

Brainfuse JobNow

Live, anytime, anywhere job assistance, including up-to-date nation-wide and local job search engines, professional resume critique and proven interview techniques.


Brainfuse VetNow

Connect with an expert to learn more about eligible VA benefits and community resources.


Gale Presents: Peterson's Test Prep

Resources to help you prepare tests, change careers, or improve basic career skills.


Gale Presents Udemy

Learn and improve skills across business, tech, design, and personal interests. Connect to 4000+ on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors.

Brainfuse HelpNow Live online tutoring, writing, and FAFSA help.
Britannica School A safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School.
ProQuest CultureGrams Tutorial Provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world’s people.
Explora: an EBSCO Experience Tutorial Makes research easy for students.
Gale eBooks Tutorial Includes The College Blue Book, Peterson’s Four-Year Colleges, Peterson’s Two-Year Colleges, and Peterson’s Private Secondary Schools.
Age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of subjects taught in the classroom like animals, arts and music, social studies, and more.
Engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science.
A trusted source of read-alike recommendations specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests.
Tutorial Comprehensive access to encyclopedia articles, web links, periodical articles, animations, maps and more.

2-1-1 Long Island. Get Connected. Get Answers.

A database of Long Island community resources. Find local health and human services agencies and programs to meet your needs.

Home Improvement Reference Center

Your source for “how-to” information on a variety of do-it-yourself home improvement and repair projects.

CLCD Enterprise

The premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements.


Provides full text for titles in the ERIC database — a great resource for a variety of educators—from teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level.


ERIC Institute of Education Sciences

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.


Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered include Best Practices, Curriculum Development, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Science & Mathematics, School Administration, and more.

An accurate, current, and comprehensive resource for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty.
Britannica School A safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School.
Tutorial Provides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, bilingual dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Explora: an EBSCO Experience Tutorial Makes research easy for students.
Gale eBooks Tutorial Includes a number of different encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
Tutorial Comprehensive access to encyclopedia articles, web links, periodical articles, animations, maps and more.

For more information about genealogy research at the Library, see the genealogy page.


AmericanAncestors.org

(In-Library Use Only)

Access to more than 1.4 billion records spanning twenty-two countries covering the United States, the British Isles, continental Europe, and beyond.


America's Obituaries and Death Notices

The largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices.


Ancestry.com

(In-Library Use Only; temporary remote access extended through September 30, 2021)

Tutorial

Includes billions of records to help you find your family’s story.


Find My Past

(In-Library Use Only)

The complete British and Irish family history experience, to connect you with your ancestors and bring your story to life.


Fold3Tutorial

Provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.


HeritageQuest

Tutorial

A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, convenient research guides, interactive census maps, and more.


MyHeritage Library Edition

Contains billions of historical documents from more than 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources.


Newspapers.com

Newspapers dating from the 1700s to the 2000s.


Primary Source Archive Package

Includes Civil War Primary Source Documents, Gateway to North America, and Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books.


Sanborn Digital Maps

Fire insurance maps from 1867-1970 — New York State only.

Health and Medicine

Information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals.


MEDLINE

Provides access to thousands of medical journals covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and much more.

 

History Reference Center

Thousands of reliable resources — including primary source documents, biographies, photos, maps and videos — to help you complete your research.


Primary Source Archive Package

Includes Civil War Primary Source Documents, Gateway to North America, and Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books.


Historic Newspapers

Historic newspapers available to Suffolk County residents through Live-brary.com

Pronunciator Target your child’s optimal years to learn a second or even a third language. Muzzy and his friends guide your child on the journey to learning a new language.
Pronunciator Tutorial Create language courses that match your personal interests, occupation, learning goals, skill level, age, schedule and motivation. 160 languages available.
Rosetta Stone Library Solution Tutorial Learn a brand new language, further their ESL learning as non-native English speakers, or brush up on a language for business or vacation travel.

LawHelpNY.org

An online tool for helping low-income New Yorkers solve their legal problems.


Law Topic Guide

Guide to personal law provided by your local public library. Topics include bankruptcy, citizenship, courts, Federal & New York laws, divorce/family law, foreclosure, lawyer/legal aid directories, legal forms, legal research, local laws/building codes, and resources in Spanish.


Gale Legal Forms

Tutorial

Thousands of legal forms available. Official, state-specific, federal, business, personal, real estate and general forms covering a range of legal subjects and issues.


NuWav Legal Documents

Create professional-quality documents in three simple steps: 1. Search for the document specific to your situation; 2. Answer the questions in the web input form; 3. Review and print your document.


eCode

For the Village of Patchogue eCode, click here. For the Town of Brookhaven eCode, click here. For the Suffolk County eCode, click here. For the New York State eCode, click here. For the Federal eCode, click here

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts Comprehensive database of abstracts from the fields of Library and Information Science.

Academic OneFile

Tutorial

Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.



Academic OneFile Select

Covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Integrates the full text of publications from across disciplines and includes vocational/technical titles used by community college students, filling a specific need for curriculum-oriented collections.


America’s News and Special Reports

Tutorial

U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources. Diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos.


Access to full articles in the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), one of the nation’s leading black newspapers of the 20th century and one of New York’s most influential black-owned institutions.


Computer Science

Provides access to more than 600 leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.


Consumer Reports Magazine via Livebrary

Articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers. Issues and articles from 1985 on.


Consumer Reports Website

Tutorial

Library access to online resources at Consumer Reports.org. Consumer Reports is an independent, nonprofit member organization that works side by side with consumers for truth, transparency, and fairness in the marketplace.


Flipster

Tutorial

Digital newsstand offering content across your favorite devices. Access to newspapers and magazines combined with an easy-to-use interface.


General OneFile

Organized by subject for targeted results based on your interests. Topics include Careers, Computers and Technology, Education, Health, History, News and Current Events, Personal Finance, and Self-Improvement.


OneFile News

Access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. Also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.


Long Island Advance

Access to recent issues and issues dating back to 2007. The Advance is the oldest operating newspaper in Brookhaven Town, and the longest continually operated business in the Village of Patchogue.


Magazines, A to Z

An A to Z list of journals and magazines you can access online with your library card. Includes browse by title and browse by subject options, and a list of additional resources to aid your search.


New York State Newspapers

Articles from New York State newspapers including Glens Falls Post-Star, New York Times, New York Post, Buffalo News, and Newsday.



Comprehensive digital coverage dating back to 1980, including The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine.


New York Times Historical, 1851-2017

Access to articles published by The New York Times during the stated time period. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics.


Newsday, 1985-current

Access to recent issues and issues dating back to 1985. Newsday is a daily New York newspaper with a focus on Nassau and Suffolk counties.


Newsday Historical, 1940-1992

Access to articles published by Newsday during the stated time period.


PressReader

Digital newsstand featuring 7000+ of the world’s most popular newspapers & magazines!


Suffolk County News

Recent issues and issues dating back to 2007 of The Suffolk County News, founded in 1884 and originally named the Sayville News.


U.S. Newsstream

Search recent U.S. news content as well as archives stretching back to the 1980s. Includes CBS News 60 Minutes, U.S. Hispanic Newsstream, U.S. Major Dailies, and U.S. regional newstreams.


The Wall Street Journal, 1984-current

Indexed collection covering the period from 1984 to the present. The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City.


The Wall Street Journal Historical, 1889-2003

Access to articles published by The Wall Street Journal during the stated time period.

PML Music Indexes

Patchogue-Medford Library has one of the best and finest collections of printed music in Suffolk County. Browse and search the online indexes of our popular and classical sheet music, encompassing a range of genres and types of music in many formats.

Personal Finance Research Guide

Collection of financial literacy resources provided by your local public library. Includes media and reading lists, financial calculators, budgeting worksheets, credit basics, and more. Organizing topics include Renters & Homeowners, College Students & New Adulthood, Basics of Investing, Investing after 60, and Major Purchases – Buying a Car.

Financial Literacy – Saving Money is Fun and Important (Children and Parents)

For families with children in 1st-5th grade. Resources on the History of Money, Money-Saving Tricks, Shopping with Your Child, and children’s books on financial literacy.

GreenFile

Research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.


Science Online

Offers a comprehensive overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines that facilitate STEM research and learning. Topic Centers feature specially selected content on core science disciplines to help researchers find a starting point.


Science Reference Center

Tutorial

Designed to meet every student researcher’s needs. Contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.

Opposing Viewpoints Online resource covering timely social issues.  Supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Britannica Escolar For native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish. Two levels—Primaria for elementary and Secundaria for middle school—offer unique content that is of interest to every student.
Informe Academico Provides quality reference material—not simply translations of English-language materials—on a powerful, easy-to-use interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.

Arts & Crafts

Database Description Tutorial
Creativebug Thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists.

Auto and Small Engine Repair

Database Description Tutorial
Auto Repair Source
Use at Home
Use in Library
This database contains do-it-yourself repair and maintenance information on thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. Content has been provided by MOTOR Information Systems.
Chilton Library Chilton Library
Use at Home
Use in Library
Provides access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today, as well as many new vehicles.

Biography

Database Description
Biography Reference Bank Biography Reference Bank
Use at Home
Use in Library
Find in-depth, original profiles of current biographies with full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.

Books and Literature

Database Description Tutorial
Gale Literary Index Gale Literary Index (In-Library Use Only) Combines and cross references more than 130,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and more than 140,000 titles into one source.
Gale Literature Gale Literature (In-Library Use Only) An integrated research experience that brings together several literary databases.
Discover Books with NoveList Plus Novelist Plus
Use at Home
Use in Library
Provides access to reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction. A readers' advisory resource.
Something About the Author Online Something About the Author Online
Use at Home
Use in Library
Provides biographies of children and young adults authors and illustrators.

Business

Database Description Tutorial
Business Insights: Essentials Business Insights: Essentials
Use at Home
Use in Library
Provides detailed company and industry profiles as well as company histories.
Gale Directory Library Gale Directory Library
Use at Home
Use in Library
Ebook collection covering manufacturers and distributors from small businesses to large corporations.
Gale eBooks Gale eBooks
Use at Home
Use in Library
Includes Business Plans Handbook, the Encyclopedia of Small Business, and the Encyclopedia of Management.
Morningstar Morningstar Investment Research Center
Use at Home
Use in Library
Access Morningstar financial reports, analyst reports and porfolio screening.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Use at Home
Use in Library
Business and consumer database covering over 51 million businesses as well as U.S. Standard White Pages. Perfect for job seekers, sales leads, and finding key business people and contact information. (Formerly Reference USA)

Careers and Jobs

Database Description Tutorial
Brainfuse JobNow Brainfuse JobNow Live, anytime, anywhere job assistance, including up-to-date nation-wide and local job search engines, professional resume critique and proven interview techniques.
Brainfuse VetNow Brainfuse VetNow Connect with an expert to learn more about eligible VA benefits and community resources.
Gale Presents: Peterson's Test Prep Peterson’s Test Prep Resources to help you prepare tests, change careers, or improve basic career skills.
Gale Presents: Udemy Udemy Learn and improve skills across business, tech, design, and personal interests. Connect to 4000+ on-demand video courses taught by world-class instructors.

Children's and Teen's Resources

Database Description Tutorial
Brainfuse HelpNow Brainfuse HelpNow Live online tutoring, writing, and FAFSA help.
Britannica School Britannica School A safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School.
CultureGrams CultureGrams
Use at Home
Use in Library
Provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.
Explora Explora
Use at Home
Use in Library
Makes research easy for students.
Gale eBooks Gale eBooks
Use at Home
Use in Library
Includes The College Blue Book, Peterson's Four-Year Colleges, Peterson's Two-Year Colleges, and Peterson's Private Secondary Schools.
Gale in Context: Elementary Gale in Context: Elementary
Use at Home
Use in Library
Age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of subjects taught in the classroom like animals, arts and music, social studies, and more.
Gale in Context: Middle School Gale in Context: Middle School
Use at Home
Use in Library
Engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science.
Novelist Plus K-8 Novelist Plus: K-8
Use at Home
Use in Library
A trusted source of read-alike recommendations specifically for younger readers. It helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests.
Worldbook Encyclopedia Online Worldbook Encyclopedia Online Comprehensive access to encyclopedia articles, web links, periodical articles, animations, maps and more.

Community Resources

Database Description
2-1-1 Long Island 2-1-1 Long Island A database of Long Island community resources. Find local health and human services agencies and programs to meet your needs.

DIY & Home Improvement

Database Description
Home Improvement Reference Center Home Improvement Reference Center
Use at Home
Use in Library
Your source for “how-to” information on a variety of do-it-yourself home improvement and repair projects.

Educators' and Teachers' Resources

Database Description
Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database
Use at Home
Use in Library
The premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements.
Educator’s Reference Complete Educator’s Reference Complete
Use at Home
Use in Library
Provides full text for titles in the ERIC database -- a great resource for a variety of educators—from teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level.
ERIC ERIC
Use at Home
Use in Library
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources.
Teacher Reference Center Teacher Reference Center
Use at Home
Use in Library
Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 peer-reviewed journals. Topics covered include Best Practices, Curriculum Development, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Science & Mathematics, School Administration, and more.

Encyclopedias

Database Description Tutorial
Britannica Academic Britannica Academic An accurate, current, and comprehensive resource for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty.
Britannica School Britannica School A safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School.
Credo Reference Credo Reference
Use at Home
Use in Library
Provides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, bilingual dictionaries and encyclopedias.
CultureGrams Explora
Use at Home
Use in Library
Makes research easy for students.
Gale eBooks Gale eBooks
Use at Home
Use in Library
Includes a number of different encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
Worldbook Encyclopedia Online Worldbook Encyclopedia Online Comprehensive access to encyclopedia articles, web links, periodical articles, animations, maps and more.

Genealogy

For more information about genealogy research at the Library, see the genealogy page.

Database Description Tutorial
AmericanAncestors.org AmericanAncestors.org (In-Library Use Only)
Use in Library
Access to more than 1.4 billion records spanning twenty-two countries covering the United States, the British Isles, continental Europe, and beyond.
America's Obituaries and Death Notices America's Obituaries and Death Notices
Use at Home
Use in Library
The largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices.
America's Obituaries and Death Notices Ancestry Library Edition (In-Library Use Only; temporary remote access extended through December 31, 2021.)
Use at Home
Use in Library
Includes billions of records to help you find your family's story.
Find My Past Find My Past (In-Library Use Only)
Use in Library
The complete British and Irish family history experience, to connect you with your ancestors and bring your story to life.
Fold3 Fold3
Use at Home
Use in Library
Provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Heritage Quest Heritage Quest
Use at Home
Use in Library
A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, convenient research guides, interactive census maps, and more.
MyHeritage Library Edition MyHeritage Library Edition
Use at Home
Use in Library
Contains billions of historical documents from more than 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources.
Newspapers.com Newspapers.com
Use at Home
Use in Library
Newspapers dating from the 1700s to the 2000s.
Primary Source Archive Package
Use at Home
Use in Library
Includes Civil War Primary Source Documents, Gateway to North America, and Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books.
Sanborn Digital Maps
Use at Home
Use in Library
Fire insurance maps from 1867-1970 -- New York State only.

Health and Medicine

Database Description
Gale Health and Medicine Gale Health and Medicine
Use at Home
Use in Library
Information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals.
MEDLINE MEDLINE
Use at Home
Use in Library
Provides access to thousands of medical journals covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and much more.

History

Database Description
History Reference Center History Reference Center
Use at Home
Use in Library
Thousands of reliable resources — including primary source documents, biographies, photos, maps and videos — to help you complete your research.
Primary Source Archive Package
Use at Home
Use in Library
Includes Civil War Primary Source Documents, Gateway to North America, and Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books.
Historic Newspapers Historic newspapers available to Suffolk County residents through Live-brary.com

Language Learning

Database Description Tutorial
Pronunciator Muzzy Target your child's optimal years to learn a second or even a third language. Muzzy and his friends guide your child on the journey to learning a new language.
Pronunciator Pronunciator Create language courses that match your personal interests, occupation, learning goals, skill level, age, schedule and motivation. 160 languages available.
Rosetta Stone Rosetta Stone Learn a brand new language, further ESL learning, or brush up on a language for business or vacation travel.

Law

Database Description Tutorial
LawHelpNY.org LawHelpNY.org An online tool for helping low-income New Yorkers solve their legal problems.
Law Topic Guide
Use at Home
Use in Library
Guide to personal law provided by your local public library. Topics include bankruptcy, citizenship, courts, Federal & New York laws, divorce/family law, foreclosure, lawyer/legal aid directories, legal forms, legal research, local laws/building codes, and resources in Spanish.
Gale Legal Forms Gale Legal Forms Thousands of legal forms available. Official, state-specific, federal, business, personal, real estate and general forms covering a range of legal subjects and issues.
NuWav Legal Documents NuWav Legal Documents Create professional-quality documents in three simple steps: 1. Search for the document specific to your situation; 2. Answer the questions in the web input form; 3. Review and print your document.
eCodes For the Village of Patchogue eCode, click here. For the Town of Brookhaven eCode, click here. For the Suffolk County eCode, click here. For the New York State eCode, click here. For the Federal eCode, click here.

Library and Information Science

Database Description
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Use at Home
Use in Library
Comprehensive database of abstracts from the fields of Library and Information Science.

Magazines & Newspapers

Database Description Tutorial
Academic OneFile Academic OneFile
Use at Home
Use in Library
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Academic OneFile Select Academic OneFile Select
Use at Home
Use in Library
Covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Integrates the full text of publications from across disciplines and includes vocational/technical titles used by community college students, filling a specific need for curriculum-oriented collections.
America's News and Special Reports
Use at Home
Use in Library
U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources. Diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos.
Amsterdam News Amsterdam News (New York), 1922-1993
Use at Home
Use in Library
Access to full articles in the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), one of the nation’s leading black newspapers of the 20th century and one of New York’s most influential black-owned institutions.
Computer Science Computer Science
Use at Home
Use in Library
Provides access to more than 600 leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.
Consumer Reports Magazine via Livebrary
Use at Home
Use in Library
Articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers. Issues and articles from 1985 on.
Consumer Reports Website Consumer Reports Website
Use at Home
Use in Library
Access to online resources at Consumer Reports.org. Consumer Reports is an independent, nonprofit member organization that works side by side with consumers for truth, transparency, and fairness in the marketplace.
Flipster Flipster
Use at Home
Use in Library
Digital newsstand offering content across your favorite devices. Access to newspapers and magazines combined with an easy-to-use interface.
General OneFile General OneFile
Use at Home
Use in Library
Broken down by subject for targeted results based on your interests. Topics include Careers, Computers and Technology, Education, Health, History, News and Current Events, Personal Finance, and Self-Improvement.
OneFile News OneFile News
Use at Home
Use in Library
Access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. Also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Long Island Advance Long Island Advance Access to recent issues and issues dating back to 2007. The Advance is the oldest operating newspaper in Brookhaven Town, and the longest continually operated business in the Village of Patchogue.
Magazines, A to Z An A to Z list of journals and magazines you can access online with your library card. Includes browse by title and browse by subject options, and a list of additional resources to aid your search.
New York State Newspapers
Use at Home
Use in Library
Articles from New York State newspapers including Glens Falls Post-Star, New York Times, New York Post, Buffalo News, and Newsday.
New York Times, 1980-current New York Times, 1980-current
Use at Home
Use in Library
Comprehensive digital coverage dating back to 1980, including The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine.
New York Times Historical, 1851-2017 New York Times Historical, 1851-2017
Use at Home
Use in Library
Access to articles published by The New York Times during the stated time period. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics.
Newsday, 1985-current Newsday, 1985-current
Use at Home
Use in Library
Access to recent issues and issues dating back to 1985. Newsday is a daily New York newspaper with a focus on Nassau and Suffolk counties.
Newsday Historical, 1940-1992 Newsday Historical, 1940-1992
Use at Home
Use in Library
Access to articles published by Newsday during the stated time period.
PressReader Digital newsstand featuring 7000+ of the world's most popular newspapers & magazines!
Suffolk County News Suffolk County News, 2007-current Recent issues and issues dating back to 2007 of The Suffolk County News, founded in 1884 and originally named the Sayville News.
U.S. Newsstream
Use at Home
Use in Library
Search recent U.S. news content as well as archives stretching back to the 1980s. Includes CBS News 60 Minutes, U.S. Hispanic Newsstream, U.S. Major Dailies, and U.S. regional newstreams.
The Wall Street Journal, 1984-current The Wall Street Journal, 1984-current
Use at Home
Use in Library
Indexed collection covering the period from 1984 to the present. The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City.
The Wall Street JournalHistorical, 1889-2003 The Wall Street Journal Historical, 1889-2003
Use at Home
Use in Library
Access to articles published by The Wall Street Journal during the stated time period.

Music

Database Description
PML Music Indexes Patchogue-Medford Library has one of the best and finest collections of printed music in Suffolk County. Browse and search the online indexes of our popular and classical sheet music, encompassing a range of genres and types of music in many formats.

Personal Finance

Database Description
Personal Finance Topic Guide Collection of financial literacy resources provided by your local public library. Includes media and reading lists, financial calculators, budgeting worksheets, credit basics, and more. Organizing topics include Renters & Homeowners, College Students & New Adulthood, Basics of Investing, Investing after 60, and Major Purchases - Buying a Car.
Financial Literacy - Saving Money is Fun and Important (Children and Parents) For families with children in 1st-5th grade. Resources on the History of Money, Money-Saving Tricks, Shopping with Your Child, and children's books on financial literacy.

Science

Database Description Tutorial
GreenFile GreenFile
Use at Home
Use in Library
Research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Science Online
Use at Home
Use in Library
Offers a comprehensive overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines that facilitate STEM research and learning. Topic Centers feature specially selected content on core science disciplines to help researchers find a starting point.
Science Reference Center Science Reference Center
Use at Home
Use in Library
Designed to meet every student researcher's needs. Contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.

Social Science

Database Description
Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints
Use at Home
Use in Library
Online resource covering timely social issues. Supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.

Spanish

Database Description
Britannica Escolar For native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish. Two levels—Primaria for elementary and Secundaria for middle school—offer unique content that is of interest to every student.
Informe Academico Informe Academico Provides quality reference material—not simply translations of English-language materials—on a powerful, easy-to-use interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.